He is Abel

I wonder if learning a musical instrument is kind of like getting a tattoo: once you get your first, you’re always planning and thinking about the next one. Once I found Faith, I couldn’t help but think about who would be next…

One way in which my family has supported me going back on the World Race is through the gift of a ukulele. Though my heart grieves leaving my guitar behind, carrying around a ~1 pound ukulele from country to country for the next nine months is quite desirable.

Adding another member to my musical family is cause for celebration on it’s own. But what I most look forward to in the coming days and weeks is discovering its name. Call me crazy, but I am one of those people who name their instruments. As I fall deeper in love with God the Father, my Abba Papa, I’ve simultaneously fallen deeper in love with His names. There is great meaning, beauty and truth in a name. The name reveals one’s character, just like God: Jehovah jireh. The God who provides.

Post-uke purchase, I spent the following week road-tripping cross country to move my family from Chicago to California. And I joyfully played my uke in search of his/her name. In the car waiting to fill up on gas. In the evening after a long day of driving. Through painted deserts.

IMG_20160730_150448

And then, one night in the Albuquerque heat his name (it’s a boy!) came to me in the form of scripture:

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine…” Ephesians 3:20

Able. He is able. His name is Abel.

Let’s be honest, we all have insecurities. And over the past months, even as I step into this coming season, I’ve been going over and over, analyzing whether or not I can do what He is calling me to do. Whether or not I am equipped, if I am able.

And when I doubt, my Abba Papa swoops in to remind me of who I am, of whose I am. And He guides me back onto the path of truth and my identity in Him. I am equipped. I have been made strong and I can walk in authority – all and only – because of Him. Because of His strength. Because of His power. I am able because He is able.

And so we’re going another layer deeper than before and I speak these truths over myself daily now: I am able to lead. I am able to love. I am able to walk in faith, give grace abundantly, speak truth, walk boldly and proclaim His good news.

So, as I travel, as I wait, as I sing and pray, Abel will be a constant reminder of the Lord’s character and His challenge: He is able and will provide. His desire is that I give the best of what I have (believe that I already have it) and to not hold back. For His glory. For His Kingdom. For His people.

IMG_20160713_143413299

I pray that you may be encouraged and know that He has equipped you too. And if you are in need of more, you need only to ask and He will give.

With great love,

Allison & Abel

Leave a Reply

