To Those Who Love to “DIY”

Will you pause in this very moment? Stop just for a minute. Take this moment and dwell upon these sweet commands:

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

What if we stopped what we were doing and mediated upon this daily? Even more, what if we recognized this truth and lived it? How would it change what you’re doing right now? Or how you would pursue things later tonight? Next week? Truth is, it changes everything. 

You’re so busy trying to DIY that you’ve forgotten his sovereignty, his power, his role in your life. You know him but do you actually know him? 

I’ve been there before, it’s just easier to “get it done myself” because I know how to do it right and done in a timely manner. But really, I’m just saying “Abba Father, I don’t actually believe that you can do it better, or you know how to do it better. So let’s just leave this one to me, because clearly I have everything figured out. But, uh, thanks for being there to watch along the way.” 

I’m sure you’ve got a great plan. I’m sure you’re executing it well enough. But did you know you don’t have to? You don’t have to stress, be anxious, run to and fro feeling like a headless chicken. Your Father is giving you two commands. And these are just as important as the 10 he gave Moses up on the mountain top. 

  1. Be still – Stop. Stop planning, stop doing, stop prepping and anticipating. Amidst the chaos, conflict, competition, congestion, just take a minute and rest. Breath.
  2. Know that he is God – You can know and then you can know. Like, I know Chris Evans but I don’t actually know Chris Evans. When you know that the all powerful and gracious Creator of the earth loves you and is working all things for your good, well, how can you not want to surrender to him? I pray with every ounce, fiber and atom in my soul that this truth, this knowledge, KNOWING, brings you unexplainable peace

I too kind of loathe being still. Not doing. How can I trust that it’s going to get done and done correctly? Knowing. Trusting. Delegating. It’s is a beautiful thing, especially when we can give it away to one who loves us, who is able and who can carry it out in ways that are better than we might even hope or imagine. 

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine according to his power that is at work within us,” Ephesians 3:20

I pray for you to find peace in being still and rest in knowing who God is and how He wants to work in your life. He is with you. He is for you.

Blessings my friend.

One thought on “To Those Who Love to “DIY”

Leave a Reply

