Finding my crown of wisdom

“Gray hair is the crown of wisdom; it is attained in the way of righteousness.” Proverbs 16:31

I just got off the phone with my sister from the Race. It was a beautiful conversation full of laughter, sadness, encouragement, mourning, prayers and a lot of love. There was depth and there was life. We joked about how long ago the Race seemed and how we’ve aged. A year ago today we were in El Salvador, month 1 of the World Race, roughly around the time we climbed this insane volcano. 

Life hasn’t been so easy being home. She shared her struggles. I shared a little of mine. And in this season of life I find myself desperately hungry for wisdom. So I dove headfirst into the book of Proverbs. I dissected and read over and over the wisdom Solomon had to share. And in the beginning, all I understood was his emphasis on the importance of obtaining and holding on to wisdom.

“Blessed are those who find wisdom, those who gain understanding, for she is more profitable than silver and yields better returns than gold.” Proverbs 3:13-14

Okay. Wisdom is of great value. But what is wisdom? I have a very science & mathematical brain. Tell me the facts and give in detail a list from a-to-z in order of importance and necessity – alphabetical if you wouldn’t mind.

And true to who He is, my Father opened my eyes and crushed my expectations. There is no a-to-z formula in obtaining wisdom apart from Him and His word. The Bible is the entire medical journal and historical document of who He is. What He’s done. How He is pursuing me and how He longs for me to pursue after Him. Wisdom was already in my hands. I just had to keep reading. 

I think deep in my heart I was after was something other than the Bible. I was tired of reading what I had already read and was ready for something different. But His word is always fresh, new, alive and life-giving. It is constantly teaching and revealing more of His character and His ways. And as we search faithfully, truth rises to the surface, unravels and reveals riches more incredible than one can imagine. 

“Wisdom is a tree of life to those who take hold of her; those who hold her fast will be blessed.” Proverbs 3:18

Is it fair to say we get bored easily? We want something else, another distraction to distract us. We don’t want to wait, we don’t really want to invest and we don’t want to have to try. It’s too hard, takes too much time and I don’t have anything extra to give at the end of the day. I’ve been there. I lived that for eight years, through University, through working full-time, through volunteering at my church and other organizations. It was exhausting to say the least.

But now, after the Race, He’s called me into a sweet season of stillness, of waiting and being present. I am so grateful to have time throughout the day to pour a cup of coffee (we brew around the clock) and dive into the word. Or pray. Or play my guitar and wait for His voice.

IMG_20160129_150934

I’m only seven chapters into the book and see also, that just pursuing wisdom is not enough. One must “bind it always on your heart.” Truth be told, I’ve bound Christ to my heart but never taken as much consideration in doing the same with His word. I know a lot of wise men and women, all of whom have played an intricate role in my relationship with the Lord. And I long to be like them. A woman of wisdom. It’s not an overnight thing. It’s going to take years to reach that level of maturity and wisdom. And there will be seasons in which I will have to prioritize and make sacrifices to pursue the “tree of life.” 

Let’s take it one day at a time. 

And I’ll have you know, that when I looked in the mirror this morning I saw that I am already well on my way. For I found not one, not two, but a few gray hairs that bare fruit to the wisdom I have already attained. So cheers to gray hairs and wisdom, to busy and uneventful days, to understanding and knowledge, to full mugs of coffee and to Jesus, our ever faithful Savior.

IMG_20160129_150618

2 thoughts on “Finding my crown of wisdom

  1. Hello Love!
    I’d love to hear some more of your nuggets of wisdom sometime, especially the part about binding things on the heart. Skype date soon please? Love & miss you friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

